notices

What's coming up at Platt

In addition to our regular church activities, there are other events at Platt and around the local area. Details of these can be found below.

Prospects Group

  • Monday 21 January
  • 7:15pm

For adults with learning disabilities and their carers. All welcome.

Funeral service for Annette Silvester

  • Wednesday 30 January
  • Time to be confirmed (around lunchtime)

The service will be followed by refreshments.

Why get ordained in the Church of England?

  • Saturday 2 February
  • 9:30am

Thinking about full-time ministry? Considering ordination in the Church of England? Have questions about Anglican ministry? On February 2nd we are hosting a one-day event run by Oak Hill College which will explore issues and questions surrounding ministry in the Church of England. 

Live BBC Radio 4 Sunday Worship

  • Sunday 3 February
  • Arrive 7:30am for 8:10am start

Come and be part of the live Radio 4 Sunday Worship service happening at Platt!

Reach the City Prayer meeting

  • Sunday 3 February
  • 7:30pm

Compass Hike

  • Saturday 9 February

Details to follow. 

Future hikes: March 16th (Edale, moderately strenuous), April 27th, May 18th June 29th.

Inspire Women's Breakfast

  • Saturday 23 February
  • 9:30-11:30am

'Growing Spiritually' with Dr Shirley Jenner

  • Thursday 28th February & Thursday 28th March

Two evenings at Platt, near the start and end of Lent, to explore how we can grow spiritually as Christians. All welcome.

Science & Christianity event with Dr Rod Benson

  • Saturday 2 March

A teaching day looking at Science and Christianity. More details to follow.

Exploring Baptism / Confirmation sessions

  • Sunday 3 March & Sunday 17th March
  • 4:30-5:30pm

These are aimed especially at Pathfinder and Plattform age young people. (But if you are interested and not in those groups, come and talk to Paul or Sarah.)

Ash Wednesday Service

  • Wednesday 6 March
  • 7am

Followed by breakfast.

Manchester International Outreach launch event

  • Saturday 9 March

Spring SOUND Youth Event

  • Friday 29 March
  • All Saints, Preston

Initial Trauma Healing Training

  • Monday 29 April - Friday 3 May

From Monday 29th April to Friday 3rd May there will be Initial Trauma Healing training taking place in Birmingham. It will be based on a large Baptist Church and they are offering accommodation for participants. This is part of worldwide training that you can read about on www.traumahealinginstitute.com

If you are interested in attending, please contact Margaret Hill.

  • Sutton Coldfield Baptist Church, Trinity Hill, B72 1TA

Platt Spring Fair

  • Saturday 11 May

More details to follow. You can also speak to Dave and Meg Fraser for more info.

calendar Exclamation Triangle Check code